Home Site Map Back

Borough of Southwark

SOUTHWARK, which constitutes another great portion of this wide-spread metropolis, was governed by its own bailiffs till the year 1327. The city, however, found great inconveniences from its neighbourhood, malefactors escaping thither, in order to be out of the reach and cognizance of the city magistrates. A grant was therefore made of that town, and, the mayor of London was constituted bailiff of Southwark [map], and empowered to govern it by his deputy.

In Edward VI's reign, the crown granted the "Borough or Town" of Southwark to the city of London for a pecuniary consideration; and, within a month after the passing of the patent, in consideration of a farther sum paid to the crown by the city, Southwark was made one of the city wards, and named Bridge Ward Without.

The number of the aldermen being increased from twenty-five to twenty-six, a new one was chosen to govern that borough. In consequence of the above grant, Southwark has been subject since that period to the lord mayor, who has under him a steward and bailiffs the former of whom holds a court of record every Monday at St. Margaret's Hill, for all debts, damages, and trespasses, within his limits: and the lord mayor proclaims Southwark fair on the 19th of September.

This borough returns two members to parliament.

Source: Leigh's New Picture of London. Printed for Samuel Leigh, 18, Strand;
by W. Clowes, Northumberland Court. 1819