Home Site Map Back

Local Government of the Metropolis.

This division of our labours comprehends the city of London, that of Westminster, the Borough of Southwark, &c.;—it embraces the municipal regulations of that metropolis which includes Westminster, many parishes in the county of Middlesex, several in Surrey and Southwark; which, according to Maitland, has "ingulphed one city, one borough, and forty-three villages." And, since Maitland wrote, the parishes of St. Mary-le-bone and St. Pancras have been covered with houses.

City of London
...... Aldermen
...... Common Council
...... Sheriffs
...... Recorder, Judicial Franchise
...... City Companies
...... Common Halls
...... Military Government

City of Westminster

Borough of Southwark

The city of London sends four members to parliament; the election takes place in Guildhall.

Source: Leigh's New Picture of London. Printed for Samuel Leigh, 18, Strand;
by W. Clowes, Northumberland Court. 1819